RSS Feed

I GOT A BLOG AWARD!

Posted on

Guys guys guys. This is SUPER FUCKING EXCITING. I mean, I imagine everyone is super fucking excited when they get their first blog award, right? So I’m sure you all understand the necessity of my posting to announce the news. I mean, I’m a freakin’ n00b here, you know? I’ve only been around since April! And not only am I in the League of Funny Bitches, but I also have….THIS:

Bitchin’.

Siren designed this award and definitely did not give it to me at all in any way. Can you believe it? I am on the fast track to internet fame and never having to leave my house again.

I’d like to thank…myself.

In other news, I noticed a puddle of water on the floor when I woke up absurdly early this morning and it turns out there was a leaky pipe so now it’s being fixed, but there are two huge holes in our ceiling because the pipe goes from one room to the next, and also a missing pipe. It is currently at the stage of repair where if the guy upstairs flushes the toilet, it’ll empty onto my stove. Do Gorons go to the bathroom? I don’t think Gorons go to the bathroom. We should be safe.

EDIT: Siren has come up with a few (minor) rules (okay, like, one)* about this blog award, and that is: When you post it, whether it be in a post or a sidebar or whatever, link it back to where you got it. If you click the one in my sidebar, it will bring you to Siren’s page about how the award came about and how it works. Lacrema, who stole the award from me, has linked it back to me (well, to both me and Siren). So if someone steals it from Lac, the idea is that they’ll link back to her. And then eventually when the award is all over the place because, come on, who wouldn’t want this award, you can see it and click back and follow the whole trail to what will probably be a lot of interesting blogs on the way. Cool? Okay, cool.

*It’s really more like a guideline.

About Rachael

Hi. I'm Rachael. I realized one day that, even though I read a lot of books, I often have a hard time remembering them later on. I guess that happens when there's so much to try to remember! So I started The 50 Book Project, with the intention to read and blog about 50 new (to me) books in 2014. I read a lot of fantasy, but I'm trying to branch out and experience new stuff. Any questions? Suggestions? Let me know! Comment, or email me at dearohrachael@gmail.com.

37 responses »

  1. Hey, I think I’m about to receive the same exact award for my blog, too! In 5 seconds!

    YEP! Just got it! HOW EXCITING!

    Reply
    • What a crazy coincidence! CONGRATULATIONS!

      Reply
    • Ludakristen of the most awesome username, I went to your blog and did not see the award. Which makes me think you stole it from Rachael and then, like hoarded it instead of actually self-awarding it to yourself. You have taken this thing to a whole new level here and now I totally want to steal something from Rachael and hoard it, too.

      Reply
  2. You are made of awesome-sauce & I am made of copy pants so when I next work up the steam to blog, I think that I too shall be receiving an award.

    Also, I heart your blog title & every time I come here, I say it in my best disappointed voice.

    Reply
    • I’m so glad I’m made of awesome-sauce. I’d hate to be made of disappointing-sauce, even though people now practice being disappointed in me every time they come here. I hope you get the award! Good luck!

      Reply
      • Mike (doctor boyfriend)

        I’M THE ONLY ONE THAT GETS TO DIP MYSELF IN YOU, GODDAMMIT

        WHO AM I GOING TO HAVE TO KILL NOW

        Reply
        • Mike (doctor boyfriend)

          aaaaaaaand I apparently can’t read, because I thought that said “people now practice being dipped in me” and that is why I was fake-angry. Maybe I should go to bed?

          Reply
          • Maybe it’s because…if I am a sauce, generally something is dipped in sauces, so your automatic reaction was to think that if I am awesomesauce then something is being dipped in me? Don’t worry, though.

            Reply
          • I’d just like to announce how much I love it that Mike has “(doctor boyfriend)” after his name. Like to distinguish himself from the other Mikes, truck-driver boyfriend and fisherman boyfriend.

            I haven’t read all the comments on past entries so maybe someone has remarked on this already and if so I apologize for being all repetitive and now I apologize for not having read all the comments on past entries and I just realized this could be interpreted as my saying you have lots of boyfriends, like you’re a giant slut or something, which I totally am NOT saying, and I’m sorry if I it came across like that and you know what? I’m just sorry, okay? Jeez.

            Love,
            Siren (apologetic, possibly insulting, friend)

            Reply
            • Mike (doctor boyfriend)

              Hmmm, today’s a nice day to be doctor fisherman boyfriend. Except I don’t have my fishing stuff (it’s in my parents’ basement since I haven’t gone fishing since I was like 12 or something) and I have no idea where around here it’s legal to fish and also whether or not I would need to obtain a fishing license. Fishing is pretty relaxing, though. I miss fishing.

              Reply
  3. Hooray! You did it! I knew I could count on your thieving instincts. Well done!

    P.S. “I’d like to thank … myself.” Cracked me up.

    Reply
    • Well, it’s not as if I could thank…you know, the academy, or you, or something like that. (Also, it cracked me up as I was writing it. I’m glad other people share my warped sense of humor.)

      Reply
  4. Yaaaaay!

    Is it bad that I want you to get really famous just so I can be all, “I knew Rachael BEFORE she was famous!”

    Reply
    • I don’t think it’s necessarily bad but make sure not to start hating me once I become famous, because then you’d be a dirty hipster and we couldn’t have that.

      Reply
      • 1) I practically am a dirty hipster, I just refuse to admit it. I listen to waaaaay too much indie music to not be border-line hipster.
        2) The only things keeping me from true hipster-dom are the fact that I don’t automatically think music is bad just because other people listen to it (in fact, I LIKE it when other people listen to the same music as me!), and the fact that I cannot stand PBR.
        3) I don’t think I could ever hate you, though, so even if I because a real hipster (which I pray never happens), you’re safe.
        4) I don’t know if comment #2 makes any sense, but I am too lazy and tired to go back and change it.
        5) This one’s for Siren.

        Reply
        • I don’t know a thing about hipsters. I just came here to obnoxiously focus on the one tiny part that is all about me. I am totally hugging list item #5. It is sort of like hugging Emeeekay, only without the part where I have to touch another human.

          Reply
  5. i don’t even have a blog and i’ve been awarded this award! awesome!

    Reply
  6. OH MY GOD… we got the SAME AWARD on the SAME DAY!!!! How incredibly clever are we. Also, I’d like to say that if you have been around since April, you are definitely due for an award.

    Reply
  7. Oh, wow, congrats! I’ll admit I’m a bit jealous, I’ve been blogging nonstop for four months now and all I got myself was a gold star for my forehead and a Procrastinator Badge I stole from Allie.

    Reply
    • But Bonzo, you could totally get this award for yourself, too. I mean, not that I’m giving you permission to take it or anything. It’s just, you know. Physically possible.

      Reply
      • I know that, but then I’d get all self conscious and wonder if I really do deserve the award or not, and a battle in my brain would start and it’d probably end up badly.

        Reply
  8. ALSO. I never said it was a RULE, jeez. I was just asking if you would be willing to link your at-the-time unlinked sidebar image back to where you got it from, because I saw Lac had linked hers back to you and I thought it would be cool if everyone linked the sidebar image back to where she stole it from because then there could be these chains of connection but then it would be weird if they all dead-ended at your blog like you were the one who had started it or something. I proposed the linky thing as an idea and asked you to tell me what you thought, and you wrote back saying you thought it was cool. I didn’t mean to sound like a huge obnoxious anal-retentive territorial micro-managing jerk about it, hmph. And YES I am aware of the irony in the fact that with this comment I have now managed to TOTALLY sound like a huge obnoxious anal-retentive territorial micro-managing jerk, shut up.

    Reply
    • Also, defensive and oversensitive. I forgot to add those. Huge obnoxious anal-retentive territorial micro-managing defensive oversensitive jerk. I suppose you could throw “obsessive” in there somewhere too. Perhaps there is also room for beating a dead horse?

      Reply
    • Okay, so since “rule” was my interpretation of an idea and not what you actually said at all, I added a thing saying it’s really more like a guideline. Like in the Pirates movies. I hope that works. I don’t think making a rule about something you created would have made you sound like a huge obnoxious anal-retentive territorial micro-managing defensive oversensitive jerk at all. I think it’s totally within your rights as creator. It’s also within your rights for it to not be a rule, so we’ll stick with that.

      Reply
  9. Ow owwwww! Pretty soon you’ll be too famous for your britches huh? Hm. I might need an award too hehe. This comment has no point.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

